Just a Rock

Image

“You do know I lost my breath when I saw your name pop up on my phone?” She said blowing smoke through her nose, while furiously typing on her laptop.

“I’m sorry about that, but you are the only person who I know who could help me with this.” He said as he lowered his head onto the steering wheel.

She chuckled and smiled, “And I always told you I would help you. Are you there yet?”

“Yeah, I have been sitting in the parking lot afraid to go in.”

“You should be dammit.” She was toying with him initially. “At this point you should have it memorized.”

“Size seven. Emerald cut. Platinum band.” He said like he was out of breath.

“Do you need me to come there with you? I can. But there’s really no need to be this nervous. She Loves YOU. Not your words, not a tortured piece of coal, YOU. You could get her a malachite set in silver and she would ADORE it. But there is one thing you should know.”

His whole body tensed up, “What’s that?”

“It’s about damn time.”

Prompt: http://www.pw.org/writing-prompts-exercises-shopping-2-19-2014

Photo credit: www.gemrockauctions.com

Leave a Reply

