Having No Medical Insurance May Also Result in Having No Home

Image

Because of my disability this letter took me four hours to complete as well as email, I thought I would share it with you, since I will probably receive more responses from this blog anyway

**For those of you who are familiar with this story, feel free to skip the first two paragraphs**

Please bear with me as I am unsure where to even begin.

Up until November 10, 2012 I worked two jobs. I worked in a call center specializing in Health and Welfare benefits, and I was an Adjunct English Professor at Camden County College. The reason I am using past tense is because on the above aforementioned date, I suffered a cerebral artery aneurysm rupture. In May of 2013, I had a second brain surgery in May to coil another aneurysm to prevent it from rupturing. I have not worked since November 10th 2012 and have been receiving Long Term Disability since February. My medical benefits through my former employer expired January 1, 2014.

I enrolled on the Affordable Health Care website December 19th and was approved for NJ Family Care starting January 1st. According to NJ Family Care, because of “technical issues” they have not received my information from the Affordable Health Care website. So twenty eight days later, I still do not have health insurance.

Thankfully, my assembly(wo)man’s office was able to assist me to obtain my prescriptions, which are life sustaining, for thirty days. Thanks to reporter Kim Mulford of the Courier Post my prescription drug dilemma made front page of the newspaper.

Now, I have eleven days left of my medication and no insurance. I cannot even see my doctors without my insurance card, which NJ Family Care says “to be patient, once they process my information, it will be sent to me”

Also, my Long Term disability Met Life carrier (Met Life) needs documentation from my doctors to confirm I am still disabled so they can reevaluate my claim. They also said that if they are unable to obtain the information needed, they will use the documentation already on file. If that information isn’t sufficient, my monthly benefit could be suspended.

Since that is my only source of income right now, if my benefits get suspended for any length of time it will cause a severe financial hardship for me. I explained my situation to Met Life and they strongly suggested that I contact any and every media affiliate, as well as political figure possible.

I am humbly begging someone to help me.

Regards,

Michele Mitchell

(phone number)

CC: Gov. Chris Christie

Sen. Robert Menendez

Sen. Fred H. Madden

Assemblyman Paul D. Moriarty

Assemblywoman Gabriela M. Mosquera

Kim Mulford (Courier Post)

Inquirer.Letters@phillynews.com

Health Check 6abc.com

NBC News Channel 10

KYW News 3 On Your Side

Huffington Post

President Barack Obama www.whitehouse.gov

4 comments on “Having No Medical Insurance May Also Result in Having No Home

  1. There are untold millions out there without health insurance. The dirty truth that CNN and Fox and the others won’t tell is that insurance rates are skyrocketing past what people can pay and Obama care costs even more (if your employer offers coverage, the government’s plan is then full price).

    Millions are dropping their employer plans and hoping for the best.

    All of this is the result of insurance company greed and government intervention. Meanwhile the working person not only has no coverage, but pays for others to have coverage. And people like you can’t even get what you need. So what exactly is this all for?

    It’s all pathetic. And that’s my soapbox today.

Leave a Reply

