Image

What’s Made Up?

What's Made Up?

I’ll never forget the day that my VSF and I were in a middle of a moment that had me emotional. I looked up at him with tears in my eyes, he frowned at me quizzically, and asked me the oddest question:

Are those your eyelashes?

I immediately stopped crying because I was stunned, and all I could do was gasp…what??? He chuckled which calmed me down. Then he wiped my tears from my cheeks with his thumb and continued, “I’m sorry, but they are just so long.” After he kissed the tip of my nose, I explained to him that I was wearing a touch of mascara. As I walked him to his car, we had a friendly debate about me never really wearing much make-up. I explained that although my lashes and brows are mine, I do wear a full face of make-up. Ironically, he had a hard time believing me. I would like to think it was because even though I wear make-up, I don’t look made up.

Which leads me to yesterday’s debacle. My daughter and I had an impromptu “spa day” and afterwards we ran some errands. After over fourteen months of not really leaving the house except for doctors’ appointments, my hair grew but my make-up supply was completely diminished. So, during those errands I replenished it.

When I got home, I did what I think every woman does when they get new make-up…try it out. Now, I am proud to admit that I am a colorful lil hippie poet chick. However, all that color on my face??? Yeah, not so much. I’m naturally pale, and my hair is naturally dark, so putting fuchsia on my eyelids, black in the creases and lavender on the brow bone??? NOT natural…I washed it all off and tried again hoping for a better result.

Then I got to thinking, I remember when I just got home from the hospital and my VSF came to visit me. I had lost all my hair and had no reason to have any make-up on. My head was in his lap and I looked up at him. Again he complimented my eyes saying they were the prettiest eyes he had ever seen. I’ll never forget that night because I thought I looked my absolute worst, but his sincerity and sensuality made me feel like the most beautiful woman in the Universe…and you can’t make that up!!!

Peace and Shine On!!!

*Star*

***The picture above is me then and now. The Love I have for my VSF is always***

© Michele Mitchell, 2014

Leave a Reply

