self defense

Image

 

swore sulphur seeped from his satanic smile

when my cheek quickly turned crimson

heard nothing but muffled cackles calling me out of my name

placing blame and hands around my throat

my only hope was in the kitchen sink

still stained with a sticky stench from slicing onions

 one needs more strength to plunge a blade through bone

to stop a heart that never beat as hard for me

as his fists

© michele mitchell, 2013

Prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/19/prompt-mad-hatter/

Photo Credit: holyhormones.com 

 

8 comments on “self defense

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Small shoes, big emotions | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Mad as a Hatter | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  4. Pingback: Losing It, But Remembering Where It Is | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: I’ve been flipped so many times, now I’m finally done | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

