Church on Sunday: Ritual, Rhetoric, or Ridiculousness???

*waits for all of my Christian friends to stop stoning me*

Ouch.

We done?

Good.

As a “Christian” (read my past blogs if you are unclear why I call myself a Christian, and why I put it in quotes), I wasn’t going to write a blog today.

Why?

Because it is Sunday…the day of rest and worship.

I choose not to go to church for a variety of reasons:

Physically, I can’t handle it right now.

Technically, the church I belong to is a “mega church”. But to be honest with you, I am not even sure if I am still considered a member because I do believe they have some rule about not tithing and membership. I do not know if that is correct, so for clarity sake, let’s just say the church I would choose to go to is a “mega church”. BUT for me it feels like big production complete with televised commercials.

I am not kidding there are big screen televisions in the sanctuary.

All that to say, if I went to church, I would go there. But something in my Spirit makes me go, “Nah, I’m good.”

Intellectually, I can’t get passed the “stores” and the ATM in the church. I do believe I had learned that Jesus was really angry about that type of thing.

All that to say, even though I may not go to church on Sunday, I still acknowledge it as a Holy day. I pray a little longer, read more of my Bible, and do an extra Bible study or two. That probably isn’t enough for some of my Christian family who spend at LEAST six to eight hours at church on Sunday, sit through all three services, sing in the choir, sell cds, bake cookies, sell dinners…

Shall I go on?

Y’all are mad at me right now aren’t y’all?

Well don’t be mad, just pray for me because despite everything I have just wrote and you have just read, I am a testimony to the power of prayer.

I believe I am alive today because of the power of prayer.

I have said that before.

But that is not the point of this blog.

Because I am Spiritual and subconsciously knew it was Sunday when I woke up, I woke up praying. As a matter of fact, I woke up quoting Scripture.

So I thought.

As a matter of fact, I was EXCITED that I woke up quoting Scripture. I thought God was actually subliminally speaking to me this morning. I was amped and I wanted to share what I woke up with on Facebook.

Then I Googled what it was I was saying to get the correct book and passage in the Bible

Imagine my shock when I realized it wasn’t scripture.

It was, in fact, something catholic priests mutter before they give Communion.

I wanted someone to come in and pray over me immediately.

Briefly, I will explain why.

The roman catholic church was responsible for funding the Transatlantic Slave Trade. That actually should be enough for any reasonable person with a working intellect to stop going to a catholic church.

The whole priest sexual scandal thing. Again, that should go without being said.

It wasn’t my CHOICE to be raised catholic.

My parents (Italian and Slavic descent) just had me christened, threw me into CCD courses on Sunday. I was forced into a veil and white dress to perform my first Holy Communion, and then they got divorced, and the rituals stopped. I never even had my Confirmation.

For the record what IS that? All I know is I was kind of pissed because I wanted to pick my confirmation name so when my mother chastised me she could do so like all of the other Italian mothers by using all of my names for example: Maria Ann Patricia Maldonado go clean your room. As a kid, I thought that was cool.

Sidebar: I do miss the stained glass windows with the saints, the Stations of the Cross, and the smell of the candles and incense. It was all really ornamental and “soothing”.

As a matter of fact, besides funerals, I can’t recall the last time either one of my parents stepped into a church

So being raised Catholic, if I wasn’t confirmed, am I going to Hell?

I don’t think do, but if I am I can play Bingo with all of the priests.

So all of that to say, what I woke up muttering was indeed balderdash.

I was angry.

So I went to my online Bible and read today’s scripture:

Ephesians 2:8-9 for by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.

 It is no coincidence that was the first scripture I ever memorized after I accepted Christ into my

heart.

YAY!!! Go God!!!

ONE LAST THING:

FAITH IS THE KEY TO EVERYTHING WHEN IT COMES TO SPIRITUALITY. RELIGION HOWEVER IS BASED ON FICTION TO KEEP YOUR MINDS ENSLAVED.

IF YOU ARE UNSURE, DO THE RESEARCH YOURSELF!!! GOD WILL IN FACT GUIDE YOU IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION.

#Peace and #ShineOn

*Star*

 

 

 

2 comments on “Church on Sunday: Ritual, Rhetoric, or Ridiculousness???

Leave a Reply

